SDA Homepage Slider

Surface Design Awards - Recognising excellence

Entries for the 2017 Surface Design Awards are now closed!

The Surface Design Awards recognise examples of progressive design and the use of innovative surfaces in projects both in the UK and internationally.

Launched in 2013, the Awards have grown quickly both in stature and the number of entrants. In 2016 the Awards received 146 entries from 24 different countries 

32 projects were named as finalists for the 2016 awards with 40% being from outside the UK covering an extensive 12 countries. 13 category winners and 1 Supreme Winner were announced at a presentation held on the last afternoon of Surface Design Show 2016. 



Surface Design Awards Supreme Winner 2016: Howe Farm, UK Architect/Designer IPT Architects

Very excited! Unexpected win, simple sustainable, multilayer approach to 1 simple material. A great show as there are so many inspiring materials to potentially work with in the future

IPT Architects

Winners 2016

award winners

The Surface Design Awards 2017: Entries Close on 30th September 2016

The 2017 judging panel will be Co-Chaired by Ab Rogers Creative Director of Ab Rogers Design and Tina Norden Project Director at Conran and Partners.

Their judges include: Bethan Wood of Studio Wood, Jenny Jones of Studio Jenny Jones and Sacha Leong from Studioilse 

Projects can be submitted by the client, architect or designer, surface supplier or their representative. The deadline for the Awards entries is Friday 30th September 2016. More



Awards Presentation



Media Partners

Building Pieces     Mix     SBID Society Mix Interiors Dezeen                Art of Design    


BIID  SBIDUniversity of Huddersfield  iGuzzini   Flos  



Maggies logo