Now in their 11th year, the Surface Design Awards continue to set a benchmark for architectural and design awards across the world.

Our goal is to acknowledge excellence in surface design and to reward those who have set the standards for other to achieve.

More than 180 projects were entered into the 2022 Surface Design Awards, coming from an amazing 24 different countries. Our Supreme Winner, the BAFTA Headquarters in London by Benedetti Architects was described as being ‘truly impressive’ by the judges.

There is no charge for entering the Awards and we welcome entries from practices both large and small and for both bigger and smaller projects.

Once again our panel of 10 judges, co-chaired this year by Jonathan Hagos of Freehaus and Nasim Koerting of The Office Group, is made up of architects and interior designers who have made a name for themselves amongst their peers.


Our Roll of Honour
Surface Design Awards Supreme Winners
2022 BAFTA Headquarters, UK by Benedetti Architects
2021 Symbiosis University Hospital and Research Center, India by IMK Architects
2020 Krushi Bhawan, India by Studio Lotus
2019 Maggie’s St Barts, UK by Steven Holl Architects
2018 Museum of Art, Architecture and Technology, Portugal by AL_A
2017 The Broad, USA by ARUP/Diller Scofidio + Renfro in collaboration with Gensler
2016 Howe Farm, UK by IPT Architects
2015 Ospedale Giovanni XXIII Chapel, Italy by Traversi + Traversi Architetti in cooperation with Architect Aymeric Zublena
2014 Mayfair House, UK by Squire & Partners
2013 Velvet Underground Nightclub, Singapore by Phillips Connor